Few months back while demoing Profitboard to one of our client, I found an interesting trend. I looked at their SaaS subscription payments which were of significant size. Curious to know will we survive as a SaaS company (:P), I stared investigating.
In this fast-paced world, we all are aware that risks are inevitable and every business has a risk.
The Project Profitability report is used to monitor the planned and real cost related to a project.
Among all the diverse projects you run, do you know which projects are most profitable?
Nearly two months ago, I shared why web design companies face cash crunches. Today I’ll show you a demo on how you can do that with ProfitBoard: Our cash flow management app for web design businesses.
We see many businesses trying to get a lot of income in a highly competitive market by providing their services and product really cheap. While this is not a bad thing to be known as Low Price King if you did your maths on pricing and how to deliver in the budget, many among you file losses due to avoidance of Rule No1 of this market. i.e. “Be Lean & Stick to the plan”
You could be able to provide products because you figured out the volume to sell, maintaining the operation etc. Like in the case of Wal-Mart or BigBazaar in India, they have a very great supply chain to make them be able to do it.
So it’s important for your business not to be slightly over budget in any field. The major problem comes in Operations. You need to be lean and should use perfect tools and checks (bound by time & budget) in place to do so.
Let me give you an example:
If a small shop will sell 500 pieces of AwesomeCheapThing at $1 each day with a profit margin of just 5cents, he gets (5×500)/100 = $25 in profit each day. Let’s see if one day its supply truck came late by just 1 hour which reduced its sell to mere 450 pieces for that day. He lost 5×50 = $2.5 on direct sell. But if we analyze what he actually lost, we got to know he pays his sells man for that 1 hour without selling anything + electricity cost etc + he spent little extra for inventory of that 50 pieces which made his loss to little more higher making that product price to sell at $1.5. But we guys have a tendency to neglect such minor stuff and we just think that we lost only $2.5 for that day.
But the guy who is selling it at $10 and sells only 3 pieces may not have that much of trouble and all extras can be adjusted to his profit.
So if you guys operate in a low-profit environment, being lean and on time makes sense else you might be doing just another business that’s losing the only issue here is that you don’t know where you lost it. You can stick as some high strength glue to your operation plans. Losing is not a bad thing but knowing where exactly you lost is really crucial for you.